2018 Crystal Apple Awards

On Wednesday, April 24, 2018, friends colleagues and families met at the Phoenix Opera House in Rushville, IL, to honor those among us who make a difference. Each year, Region 12’s Crystal Apple Awards Banquet pays tribute those individuals who have made a significant contribution to education and the teaching profession. From retirees to administrators, volunteers to mentors, and from teachers to support staff, the people who impact our students and our profession are innumerable. Special thanks to Colin Ash of Horace Mann whose generous donations make this possible.

Thank you to everyone who attended, participated, presented, or received one of the Crystal Apple Awards. Your dedication to education is incredible! For more photos from the event, visit the IEA Region 12 Facebook page.



Western Education Association Awarded an IEA SCORE Grant

Score grant 2

Pictured above from left to right: Dee Emmons-IEA UniServ Director, Roger Harris-Barry Food Pantry Board Member, Curtis Stout-Western Education Association Member, Gayle Hoskins-Western Education Association member and Score Grant writer, Susan Stout-Western Education Association President

Congratulations to Gayle Hoskins, member of the Western Education Association! Gayle was the recipient of an IEA SCORE Grant for her fundraising and collaborative work with the Barry Food Pantry of Barry, IL. We are incredibly proud of our members and all the work they do in the classroom and in their communities! The purpose of SCORE is to encourage early career members and their local associations to collaborate and create opportunities for community service projects or school projects.

Ask how you can be awarded a grant for your community project!
Want to learn more about SCORE Grants? Click Here

Membership Kickoff 2017

Thursday, August 17, 2017, marked the Kickoff of the 2017-2018 school year in Region 12. The event’s presenters included Rep. Norine Hammond (R-93), Rep. C.D. Davidsmeyer (R-100), Tom Tully – IEA Secretary/Treasurer, Nicole Wills – IEA Government Relations, Sherrie Burton – IMRF Services Analyst, Meredith Byers – IEA Early Career and Student Director, Josh Miller – NEA Benefits, Ashley Stair – Illinois Educators Credit Union, and local leaders. Topics covered included legislative issues, school funding, investing, pensions, PERA, and organizing. The day’s events ended with dinner at Los Charros. Thank you to all those who attended and presented!

Hammond2   Davidsmeyer

Tully  Dinner

Presentation Handouts

TRS Presentation, PERA Presentation, Membership Engagement Presentation, One on One Conversations, Crucial Conversations, Story of Self and 3 Questions

Summer Leadership Academy – Registration Now Open

IEAFor Association members wanting to become stronger advocates, the Illinois Education Association offers their annual Summer Leadership Academy (SLA). SLA is hosted on the campus of Illinois State University during the week of July 24. Early registration is now open through June 24, 2017. Classes will fill up quickly, so don’t wait to register.

SLA offers a variety of “schools” designed for members at all levels. From President’s School, the Association Representative School, to Collective Bargaining, members are bound to find something of value at SLA. A full agenda is available online.

For more information and all of the details, visit the IEA website.

39th Annual Crystal Apple Award Banquet

Crystal Apple Awards 2

Illinois Education Association/NEA Region 12 held the 39th Annual Crystal Apple Award Banquet on Tuesday April 11th, 2017 at the Phoenix Opera House in Rushville, IL. We had the pleasure of honoring dedicated advocates for education. There are many education professionals who inspire children each day. We were honored to be able to recognize just a few.

2017 Crystal Apple Honorees

Honorees in attendance: Damaris Blansfield, Lisa Buhlig, Brenda Force, Stephanie Goerlich, Eugene Link, Janet Logsdon, Carol Loughary, Cara Millard, Tammy Ruthardt, Scott Riddle (not pictured above),  Dawn Stiles, Maureen Wallen and Elizabeth Vaughn. 

Thank you to all those who attended this special event and for celebrating these outstanding educators and advocates of education.


Welcome Dee Emmons

Dee EmmonsThe Rushville Office is pleased to announce that Dee Emmons will be joining our staff as a UniServ Director beginning Monday, March 27, 2017. After a two-day orientation in Springfield, Dee will begin working out of the office on Wednesday, March 29.

Dee comes to us from Indiana where she was an active member of the Indiana State Teachers Association, an experienced English teacher, and a graduate of the ISTA UniServ Intern Program. Dee is passionate about education, political action, and advocacy on behalf of educators.

Dee’s arrival will not only fill a vacancy in the office, but will fully staff the office for the first time since last September. We are excited to have Dee on staff and are looking forward to working with her. We will be posting more information and Dee’s updated contact information as it becomes available.